*

June 26, 2010 § 9 Comments

I arrived in Berlin just fine on Thursday night. It was not easy to leave Little Man & I had many moments of just wanting to go back. But, I’m a big girl & it was time…

Berlin is a beautiful city & it’s just not possible to see everything in just a few days, so Thursday night I decided what I would most like to squeeze in around the Frida exhibition. I found a great tour called Alternative Berlin & met up for an almost 4 hour walk- the guide & about 10 other people. I can imagine it would not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I happen to have a soft spot for street art, artists taking over abandoned spaces & skateboarding, so it was perfect. The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the neighborhoods we walked through, the street artists & the history of artists-turned-activists during the time leading up to the Berlin Wall’s fall. I love that instead of letting abandoned spaces rot away or stand forever unused, the places we visited utilized it & have thriving, welcoming & creative spaces. Most of them have programs & activities for kids & families, too. It was a fantastic day.

I’ll post a few pictures here but if you are interested in seeing more with descriptions of what/where, just click here to the flickr set.

Today I’m heading out to see some more traditional sites & then it’s….Frida!


{tv tower, alexanderplatz}


{neptune fountain, alexanderplatz}


{street art on fire wall in kottbusser tor neighborhood}


{colorful cart in kottbusser tor}


{artists squat house behind the kunstlerhaus bethelnien}


{mural at YAAM}


{cafe zapata at the kunsthaus tacheles}

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to *

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

