*

March 5, 2010 § 14 Comments


Last week I found this fabric at the market & yesterday finished 4 new pillow covers for the sofa. The backs are black canvas & envelope style so they were super easy. The pattern satisfies my need for something sort of feminine without offending my Manly Man. It’s all nature-y & stuff.

Since my ‘test’ baby blanket with cotton flannel lining went well {sewn, washed, dried, ironed, tossed around & still looking good!} I went ahead & made a few more. I’m surprised at how happy I am with how they turned out- they are super cute, cozy, durable & simple! The current projects are pretty focused right now. The list of what I need to get done is crazy; but I’m really looking forward to it!

***

The rest of this post will be completely random & the pics have nothing to do with what I’m going to blabber on about. I’m just really excited about these blankets {geek}. In fact, I can’t believe any of it will be very interesting to you.  ;)


On Monday I bundled Little Man up, stuck him on the bike & we went to the city hall to do something not even worth getting into. Anyway- it was long, boring & in the end very frustrating. After that I schlepped him to the Kamer van Koophandel {Chamber of Commerce} so that I could register solohandmade as a business. It so happened that I kept dropping things, not finding things, my hair was disheveled, Little Man was looking a bit grubby…so that by the time I sat down with one of the advisers it probably seemed as though I would have a hard time figuring out how to turn a light switch on. The fact that I had to use Dutch business type words I am not entirely familiar with {also at the city hall I had to use fun immigration & residence type words} did not help me in the smart department, either.

As the adviser was telling me she could not find me registered as a resident of our city {which I am & have been for ages}, & while I was rummaging through my bag searching for my soffinummer {like a social security number} so that she could find me, my little prince crawled under her desk & proceeded to have a movement. I didn’t need to ask him or check to know. Thankfully the woman pretended she did not notice & thankfully we were just about finished at that point. He had been so good & patient all morning. It was sort of his middle finger to mommy. I deserved it.

***

On Sunday I am thinking of giving this a shot. A class has started in town & a friend told me she is addicted.  Not sure yet but it looks like fun! Plus it is in a lovely studio at water level on one of the canals so that’s motivating.

& I am making an effort to be a bit more disciplined in terms of yoga. Next friday I start it up again but it is a specific course at a specific time. I’m finding way too many lame excuses not to go which is stupid.

***
We are making preliminary vacation plans for the summer! It turns out we are going to be in the US for a really good chunk of time, too. There will be roadtripping, camping, beaches, trekking to a Buddhist temple in the mountains, woods, family, friends & a wedding all mashed in there :)

***

Today it is raining horribly.

***

I want ice cream for dinner.

***

Happy weekend!

xox

Tagged: , ,

§ 14 Responses to *

  • Christine says:

    This might be one of my favorite posts ever. It had me giggling and drooling all at the same time. Love it. Speaking of love… love those blankets! And that pillow… it’s a good thing I can’t visit you since one of those would be leaving with me. Sin or not… it’d be mine. ;-)

  • Kelley O says:

    Love this post. Love the pictures. How was the icecream?

  • dana says:

    Ok, I too loved so many things about this post … the baby blankets? wish I had me a (small) baby!! I’m also trying to get (or talking about getting) more serious about yoga. Summer plans already?? Ah, yes it WILL be here, damnit!!

    and now I’ve got ice cream on the brain … hmmmm

  • jenna says:

    I agree wtih Christine…it made me happy :) Love the goods, as always. Ice cream for dinner…sounds perfect.

  • Kelli K says:

    Love it! And I think ice cream for dinner sounds fab!

  • beckarecka says:

    I love the second to last picture. Perfect. What a crazy day–stuff like that always leaves me feeling like I am much less smart than I truly am…
    Happy weekend to you, too!

  • Carrie says:

    I am loving those pillows, so much so that I am debating asking you if there is more fabric at the market to make us some too. It would satisfy my need for something sort of feminine without offending Tess’ more practical approach to accessories. ;) And it matches all the greens in our living room to boot. I’m going to confer with the girl and get get back to you to discuss the possibilities.

    Sorry about the KvK joy.

  • liset says:

    Oehhh such great fabrics!!! Love all the flowers.
    And how about that vacation plans!!!!! GREAT!! Something to look forward to!

  • Krista says:

    Lovely new projects! The pillow sham at the top is so nice.
    Ice cream for dinner – sounds perfect.

  • Gayla says:

    I am really wanting one of those blankets now – even just in pictures I can tell I would love them.

    Any chance you are going to be down this way this summer???

    Very funny story about Minh’s version of the middle finger. :-)

  • Elizabeth says:

    Oh goodness.
    The way you tell the Chamber of Commerce story is so… civilized. I mean where else is one to do one’s private business but under the nearest desk? Minh, you are a real gentleman.

    I hope I see you some day.

    :)

  • Alison says:

    I love that fabric you used for the pillow! Hmmm. That might be an excellent fabric for my guest room. Must make note of it for the next time I hit up the lapjesmarkt.

    I´m so sorry Friday was such a rough day, especially with the lousy weather, too. At least this weekend has been lovely so far, even if a bit on the cold side!

  • melwillems says:

    Love that nature-y fabric as well..maybe you can introduce me to your fave fabric spots when I come to Utrecht! Have you ever seen wool roving around?

  • Katherine says:

    Will there be roadtripping to the DC area? I hope so!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

