*

February 22, 2010 § 10 Comments


Everyone in this house has been sick for ages it seems. Here’s a soup that has been quite comforting while we’ve been in the throes of nastiness. Like chicken soup for vegetarians! It’s a basic lentil soup but I’ve changed it up a bit. Really, really easy & very delicious especially if you are stuffed up. I make mine pretty spicy & it does the trick!

1 cup dried red lentils
3 chopped garlic cloves
1 chopped small red onion
4 cups vegetable broth
crushed hot red pepper
juice from 2 large or 3 small lemons

Saute the garlic & onion in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes, then add the lentils
Stir
Add the vegetable broth & bring to a boil
Turn down heat & simmer for about 40 minutes
Add the lemon juice & red pepper

Yum!


Another expat blogger
I follow posted this recipe for bakeless/raw cocoa cookies the other day. Little Man & I tried it out this morning & well…oh my. We avoid giving him sweets/ processed anything as much as humanly possible so these are perfect for a treat! I really had to control myself because they are addictive. The whole process is great to do with a little one, too. Fun & squishy. Like clay you can eat… ;)

You can find the recipe here.

& btw: click to see an article & photo slide show in the NYT’s about the music scene in our fair city. {many a way-too-late-night were spent in several of these spots pre Little Man}

Tagged: , ,

§ 10 Responses to *

  • So glad to see that the bakeless fresh bite chocolate cookies worked so well for you guys! I hope you feel better soon!! The soup looks great!!

  • Auntie Gail says:

    MMMmmm that food looks yummy mummy.

    I thought about you yesterday as I labored through a 2 day long migrane I thought would explode my brain. Being sick is the worst for real. I hope hope hope you will be feeling much better veeerry sooooon!

    luv Auntie

  • Alison says:

    I’m so glad you liked the date treats, too. They really are addictive. I’ve got one left, but I’ve already bought more dates to make more tomorrow. ;) Your soup sounds wonderful. I hope it does the trick and has you all back to perfect health soon.

  • Sarah says:

    We’ve been seized by unrelenting illness here, too. Your soup looks awesome, I’ll definitely try it. Hope you guys are on the up & up soon soon soon!!!

  • Christine says:

    OK, I’m *definitely* trying the soup… AND the cookies! YUM! (And yeah, we don’t give S a ton of sweets/processed stuff either… but I think we need to step it up even more after our last week…)

  • Nicki says:

    oh my gosh that soup looks delish! I can’t stand chicken soup or any soup with potatoes or root veggies. This looks right up my ally!

  • Carissa says:

    oh now I am HUNGRY! Off to make some soup!

  • gayla says:

    YUM!!! We are fortunately not sick but that soup sounds awesome! And we will absolutely try those cookies as well.

  • Krista says:

    The soup looks great! I will try it for sure. You guys had the flu right? I really think the everlasting cold is a result of it since I’ve been exactly the same… and I’m sick of it – I know you are too!

  • jodean says:

    That soup looks SOOOO good! Will have to try it :-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

