*

November 23, 2009 § 10 Comments


{gothic playground}

We love to cycle into town & run around this cloister garden. It’s a lovely quiet spot where locals take their lunch breaks & there are always tourists snapping pictures.

Today though, {surprise!} it’s raining. Terribly. There are a few things that trigger homesickness: days upon days of rain is one of them. Ah well…

So while I’m not the biggest fan of Thanksgiving, I do always miss being home. The autumn weather, spending the day with my family & of course! Eating all of the super yummy vegetarian sides. We tend not to travel over for it because typically we go for a big trip in December {which is coming up!}

This year a few of us ‘mericans are getting together for a potluck. These are the times when I am truly grateful for the group of non-Dutchie girlfriends I’ve made {who, btw, did a wonderful job at making sure I drank enough Thursday night}.

This week we are meeting 2 young college students from Viet Nam to talk about hanging out with Little Man a few hours per week to play & speak Vietnamese! I’m also going to get tutored a bit. We are hoping to make our first return trip when Little Man is 5, so if I want to get down some basic phrases, I better start now ;) We are excited at the prospect of our guy hearing Vietnamese on a somewhat regular basis & these students seem quite enthusiastic.

Last week we got our expected letter from the local health department with the schedule for H1N1 immunizations for all children 1-5 years old in the country. Each city is doing it by postal code- we are scheduled for tomorrow between 10-11 at a huge convention center downtown. I can’t wait to experience the chaos!

Did I mention that it’s raining?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to *

  • Alison says:

    I generally like rainy days, but even I’m feeling a bit tired of it all right now. Sadly, the weather forecast for the week isn’t exactly raising my spirits.

    That’s wonderful that you’ve found some Vietnamese students to meet with the Little Man and to help you out, as well. What a wonderful thing to do.

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving. I’m most looking forward to some pecan pie and cornbread dressing. ;)

  • Christine says:

    Oh man. The H1N1 – don’t even get me started on how much fun that has been. Ugh. I’m very jealous of your situation – even if it will be chaotic. My option is to call the doctor’s office every morning and see if they got any doses, and if we can get one. Let’s just say it’s time consuming.

    I love that you are getting together with some Vietnamese students! That will be wonderful for M and you! We’re having some Korean ESL students translate a letter and a photo album for our FM… I never thought of asking for lessons myself! Hmmm… can I copy you?!

    I’ll think of you on Thursday!

  • Auntie Gail says:

    Yup. Excellent example of how messed up the medical establishment is here (U.S.A.) First they send parents into an absolute panic and then they tell everyone ‘oops sorry’ there’s a shortage and make us jump through firey hoops to figure out when/where/how!!!????

    Despite the weird convention center situation.. you guys are lucky to have it provided that way. Hope it goes smoothly and quickly!!!

  • Jill says:

    How exciting about the students. What a great experience that will be for you all! Not so much exciting about the shot yuck!

  • Sarah says:

    You will have a great time with your Vietnamese tutor! We do the same thing, and it’s such an awesome experience.

  • Lisa says:

    Great shots!

    Love that you found students to tutor you both and share bits of culture with ~ what a gift to you both!

    & LOVED your 41 things post….I may have to borrow it when I hit 40 in Jan…..what a nice way to celebrate a milestone!

    Good luck with vaccine; our kids have gotten it and all went fine ~ but chaos? Oh yes…..

  • Nicki says:

    what a cool place to hang out and great architecture!!

    I am so jealous of the student tutors! I put an ad out for similar here – the 2nd largest VN city in the US – and got…..NOTHING! Not a single reply. Sigh.

  • lammmimi says:

    That is nice, that you, and little man able to learn some Vietnamese, I hope the students are from the North, the northern people pronounce, and spell words more correctly than the southerner, and they have solfter accents, more like a melody.

  • gayla says:

    What a beautiful place to hang out. I so love finding places like that.

  • Sharon says:

    Stunning photos . . .

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

