*

November 10, 2009 § 10 Comments

The days are flying by & overnight it seems as though everyone is getting into holiday mode. It’s doubly dangerous for us because the yearly Dutch holiday sweets start now & that means I’ll be tempted daily straight through from here to the States to the end of December.

Pepernoten, Speculaas, Olie ballen…they are all making an appearance everywhere we turn {!}

Then endless homemade Italian Christmas cookies courtesy of my mother…

We are looking forward to sharing the season with Little Man in two countries. The arrival of Sinterklaas here {& my angst over the PietsI am still struggling with how to ignore them}, a party with Hans’ family, & Santa Claus in the US with mine…the lights, music, decorations. Yay! Hopefully I won’t gain too much weight. The only inspiration I have to be mindful is the fact we will be spending part of our trip on the beach; therefore I’ll be digging out my bathing suit.

***

photo(4)-pola
{there were blue skies on saturday but not today}

DSC_0003-pola
{lovely flowers from my guys to brighten up the rainy day}

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to *

  • Alison says:

    So far I’ve resisted all the treats, particularly all the chocolate letters, but the boyfriend and I have been discussing taking a nighttime wander through the city sometime soon, in theory to enjoy the holiday lights, but also as an excuse to enjoy some olieballen from the kraam at Neude.

  • gayla says:

    I’m still trying to avoid Halloween candy (and not doing a great job of it either!) That does not bode well for me. :-)

  • Gina says:

    We’re already in holiday mode over here, too. Annie decided that the day after Halloween was as good as any to start listening to Christmas music. I’m sure I’ll be sick of it before Thankgiving. Still, I’ll take that over being bombarded with sweets for the rest of the year. Good luck :)

  • Auntie Gail says:

    Just keep thinking about that bathing suit!!!

    : ) ha ha ha!!!

  • andrea says:

    Just trying to get through Thanksgiving here (I’m cooking at my parents house – and probably flying with a turkey!) At least I can focus on things other than sweets for two more weeks.

  • Nicki says:

    LOVE that flower pic. Seriously what is more fun than Christmas? Christmas in two countries! So lucky!

  • Christine says:

    I would be in big trouble if there were two holidays spread out that much… bathing suit or not! So when shall I start harassing you about your state-side visit?! ;-)

  • Ellen says:

    The photos are lovely…holidays are always busy with young ones…don’t worry…it gets easier..smiles.

  • I started eating like the holidays were upon us about two months ago. So, now I’m kicking myself. There’s just so much good food and I have such a lack of self control. Hopefully, I can get my act together here and remember that there are other things to celebrate than food. But man, I sure do like to eat. ;)

  • Miriam says:

    So behind on blog reading (obv) but I had to say – that’s the first I’ve ever heard of Piet and … O.O I’m just amazed, and not really surprised, but … Wow.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

