*

March 6, 2009 § 8 Comments

{the tulips are waking up in Holland}

Because life was finally returning to normal, we were hit by a very nasty flu. Just to keep things spicy. My mum, Hans & me. Little Man? Nope. Luckily Hans’ mum was able to come down to help. It hit hard & fast. My word was it bad.

I was able to {finally} finish 3 books over the past 3 weeks- I recommend them all but my favorite was the second; & actually reading the first and second back to back was kind of interesting.

The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga
The Namesake, Jhumpa Lahiri
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, John Boyne

Happy friday!

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to *

  • Christine says:

    Oh no! Hope you are all 100% again _soon_.

  • Chandra says:

    I hope you guys are all recovered soon! Must be bad if you have to bring in a SECOND Grandmother! Thanks for the book recommendations, I didn’t realize it was a book but I know The Namesake is a movie that I have been meaning to see forever. Maybe I’ll read the book first!

  • Emily says:

    Three books in three weeks – that is impressive. Thanks for the recommendations. I read #2 – and I need a new book so perhaps I will make a trip to the bookstore tonight.

    I am enjoying your comments on my blog — and have been lurking around yours. Time to say hello officially. Beautiful photos! Look forward to following you here.

    -Em

  • klarobinson215 says:

    I’ve been meaning to read the Namesake – will put it on the top of my list.
    Tulips! So lucky…

  • ballycroy says:

    Beautifuk, beautiful tulips. So lovely to think about Spring.

    I am need of books. We are off to Cuba on a holiday and reading material is essential:)

    Mary

  • Cris says:

    You should try The Sea Poppies by Amitav Ghosh. It’s a really wonderful story set in early 19th century India, with a focus on race and caste (and how attitudes began to change) in that era. Beautiful language, too.

  • Julie says:

    Tulips are my very favorite!

    I saw the movie The Namesake about a year ago. I loved it and didn’t realize it was based on a book. I’m looking forward to reading it now. Thanks!

  • Elizabeth says:

    The Namesake is one of my favorite books. The movie was very good as well, (Mira Nair directing :)

    The White Tiger was a little strange for me, living in Bangalore and employing a young guy for a driver. But I received it as satire- one of my friends said it made her sad. ?

    I hope all are feeling better now.

    Funny. Our Sunbooty stays pretty healthy (compared to us) and I wonder about her immune system. Do some adopted children have a stronger immune system? Or is that a silly thought?

    Thinking of you.
    xo
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

