*

February 27, 2009 § 14 Comments


{a bit better}

This is the toddler scarf I finished last week, but it had stuffed felt discs. It was cute but didn’t seem very ‘sturdy’ to me. I crocheted 3 balls and attached them to one end, folded over for a seam & finished off with a blanket stitch. Much better!


{& another experiment}

The good news about being stuck in bed for a few weeks is that I’ve been able to put a lot of thought into what I’m doing. Aside from being Mommy. Now that Little Man will be in creche 2 full days per week, I have structured studio time which I think, will really help me organize & set specific goals.

It’s another gray & rainy day in Holland. After 7 years I don’t understand why this still surprises me? This is Dutch winter. I miss the sun so much! Back home the winters are reeeeeaaaallly cold, but at least there was a chance the sky would be blue a few times per week. The up side is that spring here can be spectacular {tulips!} & during the summer months it stays relatively light outside until at least 10 at night. & there is nothing like sitting outside with friends in the square at a cafe drinking Belgian beer till late, with loads of people out in the streets & bicycles everywhere. ahhh.

But right now it’s very gray, the cats woke us up at 530 & I dread going outside in the rain to bring Little Man to creche. At least my mum is here & we’ll get coffee somewhere afterwards. My second Big Walk. Yay!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to *

  • lisette says:

    Very nice scarf! The crocheted balls are great, they finish the scarf perfectly. Can’t see what’s with the shirts.. Did you make applications on them?

    Good luck today with little man on the creche for a longer time! Enjoy your second walk and the weekend!

    x

  • Christine says:

    I really liked the felt discs… but I *love* the crocheted balls even better! Wow! That looks great…

    I love the detailing around the edge of the fabric on the shirts… I’ll be emailing you about those offline!

    Lastly, would you like some weather from here??? I’ll gladly ship it off to you. Maybe you’ll be all done after a few days of it, had your fill and all that?! ;-)

  • Mila says:

    Oooh i really, really like what you make.
    It’s so sweet and pretty!
    I am planning (and willing) to get much more creative and make things and learn how to use my sewing machine……!

    Yes, i sooo agree with you on the Dutch weather, it really gets me a little depressed sometimes and longing for sunshine….pfff.

    I hope you’ll have a wonderful weekend and that the sun may shine maybe for a couple of hours!

    Love,
    Mila.

  • Chandra says:

    When we spent our 3 weeks in Moscow last November, we only saw the Sun ONCE. Once in 3 weeks. When we got home it was cold but a beautiful clear blue sky with the Sun shining. At first I didn’t realize why I thought it was such a gorgeous day, since it was so cold. Then I realized it was because they sun was shining and I hadn’t seen that in 3 weeks! It’s amazing the difference that makes, so I hope you get some sunshine soon.

  • stollmyheart says:

    Loving the scarf, not so much the gray skies..blah. Hope your walk and coffee run were nice :)

  • Mimi Lam says:

    I love the little scarf, very creative of you,and glad you are getting better, and having a great time with your baby. My favorite weather is autumm, and early winter, I love gray sky, cold day, it brings such soothing feeling to my spirit, I love to take a stroll, and have a hot cup of coffee, and wishing time would stand still in this weather, sounds so somber to others, isn’t it??. Hopefully, it still cold when I travel to France next month…

  • Mimi Lam says:

    I love the little scarf, very creative of you,and glad you are getting better, and having a great time with your baby. My favorite weather is autumm, and early winter, I love gray sky, cold day, it brings such soothing feeling to my spirit, I love to take a stroll, and have a hot cup of coffee, and wishing time would stand still in this weather, sounds so somber to others, isn’t it??. Hopefully, it is still cold when I travel to France next month…

  • Yoli says:

    Love the scarf and the sweet t-shirts. The t-shirts is the only thing we can wear in our humid hot climate. There is never snow here, ever.

  • Auntie Gail says:

    Hope your second outing went well. Any difference for his drop off today?

    Please say hello to your mum for me?

    Love you!

  • Kelli says:

    Hope you enjoyed your walk. Have a good weekend!

  • Lee says:

    i heart your balls.

  • melinda says:

    Well, apparently I’ve been a horrible bloggie friend and I ended up missing a lot on your blog (but I have a good excuse, I promise). Do you think I could have the password please? :) Will catch up when I get a moment to myself.

  • Ria says:

    For me it’s a love/hate relationship with the weather. I hate cold, gray days, but being stuck at home heightens my creativity. Love the scarf. Thanks for sharing.

  • Carissa says:

    Oh I love that scarf – I hope you are putting some like that on your Etsy store!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

