November 22, 2007 § 1 Comment

Choosing to be home for either Thanksgiving or Christmas, it’s always Christmas. I’m not a particularly huge fan of Thanksgiving, but I miss being with my family. If there’s any period during the year when I feel the most homesick it’s at some point in the summer (I grew up on the Massachusetts coast), and between October and December. Today I have to work and then tonight we will join a few other American/Dutch people for dinner at a friend’s home in Amsterdam. Being raised to reflect on what I’m thankful for during this holiday season, here’s my little list for this year. I’m surely missing lots but it’s 7:30 in the morning:

  • My husband
  • Our son, who we cannot wait to meet
  • Our cats
  • Our families
  • My parents
  • My best girlfriends who I miss terribly
  • Friends I have made in the Netherlands
  • The experiences living abroad has given me
  • Our beautiful home
  • A job that pays the bills
  • The ability and time to do my art
  • Japanese Chiyogami paper
  • Decent health
  • A trip home in a few weeks
  • That it’s never impossible to go home
  • The Netherlands, my second home
  • People in the world working for peace
  • That the Bush administration has only 425 days remaining (as of today)
  • That more and more of us (Americans) see that Bush’s war is unjust, unfair and wrong
  • The right to say and do and believe what I want
  • Art
  • Chocolate
  • Love
Tagged: ,

§ One Response to

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at 3cf.

meta

