*

September 4, 2010 § 5 Comments

One of the best parts about traveling back to the US is getting new books for Little Man! It’s rarely possible to find the kind of books I like for him in English- or if I do they are few & far between & very expensive. So…between gifts & me going to the bookstore, we usually return with a big stack.

Here’s a list of some of our favorites lately. Any to add?

These are by Roseanne Thong & while Chinese oriented, it’s always a score to find images of people with dark hair & Asian features. What I love most are the illustrations by Grace Lin:

Round is a Mooncake

One is a Drummer

Red is a Dragon

This next one has amazing illustrations & the families represented are of all backgrounds; the main one with a Caucasian mother & Black father:

All the World

Awesome bedtime book:

You are My I Love You

These are some favorites & also gently introduce the idea of…the life cycle {?} life & death. Both are beautiful:

Swimmy

The Dandelion Seed {we have had this for a while but still love it}

One of the best picture books ever!:

Invisible/Visible

Very cute, silly, awesome illustrations & Asian characters:

My Friends

& if you are not familiar with Charley Harper, check his work out. We received a beautiful memory game as a gift from friends with his art. Amazing!

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to *

  • Rebecca says:

    I love posts with good book lists. We also got “All the World” this summer. Beautiful. I can’t wait to check out some of the others you’ve mentioned, too.

  • Elizabeth says:

    Great list!
    And hey – I owe you an email… sorry!

  • Christine says:

    I’ll have to add these to my list! Right now, all of our reading material seems oriented towards the subject matter of cars or animals. And not too many that i would recommend. Hmmm…

  • Melissa says:

    I ADORE Charley Harper..Ezra has a couple of tees from with his illustrations on them and they’re just about too small:(
    I will for sure stock up on books from 10 Thousand Villages when back stateside..I love all the Internationally themed books they have…one of our all time faves…”Is your Mama a Llama?”

  • klarobinson215 says:

    These sound great! I’m going to add them to our to read list. One book about a mother’s love that I always enjoy reading is I’ll Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading * at 3cf.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

